The process of admissions in all IISERs is managed by the Joint Admissions Committee (JAC), headed by a Chairman and having members from all IISERs. The details regarding admissions in all IISERs can be obtained at

Channels of Admission

Students are admitted to the programme through the following channels:

Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) Basic Science Stream: Candidates having a valid KVPY fellowship are eligible to apply for admissions. Additional cut off criteria may be applicable.

Joint Entrance Exam (Advanced): Candidates in General category securing a rank within 10000 in the Common Rank List (CRL) of JEE Advanced are eligible to apply. For candidates belonging to reserved category (OBC-NCL, SC, ST, PD), their category rank would be used. Additional cut off criteria may be applicable.

State and Central Boards: Students who have passed (10+2) level with science stream during the current or previous year with marks equal or above the cut off percentage in their respective boards are eligible to apply. For the candidates belonging to the Non-Creamy Layer of the Other Backward Classes (OBC-NCL) and Persons with Disability (PD) categories, there is a 5% relaxation. The cut-off percentage for the Scheduled Castes (SC), the Scheduled Tribes (ST) and Kashmiri Migrants (KM) candidates is 55% in (10+2) level for all boards. Students applying through SCB channel will have to appear in the IISER Aptitude Test which will be conducted at various centers across the country. To calculate your percentage of marks obtained use your board’s method.

Indian nationals and students belonging to PIO or OCI category are eligible to apply provided they satisfy the eligibility criteria described above.


KVPY scholars admitted to IISERs would draw fellowship as per KVPY norms. In addition, a limited number of INSPIRE scholarships will be available for candidates admitted through JEE Advanced and SCB channels as per the norms prescribed by DST INSPIRE scheme.


IISERs follow Government of India rules regarding reservation for seat allocation in Central institutes of higher education.